Wednesday, August 23, 2006

Mascots Of The Beijing 2008 Olympics

Logo of Beijing 2008 OlympicsBeijing unveiled five mascots for the 2008 Olympics on 11 Nov 2005, in conjunction of a gala show held in Beijing, to mark the 1,000-day countdown to the opening ceremony of the games. The XXIX Olympiad will take place from 8 Aug 2008 to 24 Aug 2008.

Mascots Of Beijing 2008 Olympics

The five mascots are officially called the Five Friendlies, comprises of Beibei (the fish), Jingjing (the panda), Huanhuan (the Olympic flame), Yingying (the Tibetan antelope), and Nini (the swallow). The first syllables from their two-syllable names form a statement "Beijing Huan Ying Ni", which means "Welcome to Beijing".

This article has no comments yet. Why don't write your comments for this article?